What is the 1st Comic Book That Got You Into Reading & Collecting Comics?

For me, the real 1st comic that got me into collecting was Superman #123, the 1st Electrical Blue Superman. New powers, new look. I was intrigued. I’ve been collecting mostly since 1997.

18 Likes

Batman HUSH vol.1 and 2. There’s an amazing full page panel of Batman holding the Joker by the throat and it’s on another level.

5 Likes

I remember when those Batman Hush issues came out! I made sure I got doubles of all the printings when they came out. I miss Jeph Loeb. He was one of the ultimate writers of DC back in the early 2000’s.

3 Likes

Watchmen!

5 Likes

Batman: Son of the Demon. Original 1987 story but I got the issues in 1992 the day or two after watching Batman Returns in theater

4 Likes

Batman the Long Halloween from Jeff Lobe and Tim sale 2 years ago 14 know I have most important Batman trades, Spiderman trades, Superman trades.

4 Likes

Harley Quinn New 52 tbh. But Poison Ivy’s my favorite now.

5 Likes

This is a great thread to bring old time and new comic readers together!

4 Likes

Justice League of America #192. Red Tornado attacks the JLA on the satellite. Was stoked to find it included here!

3 Likes

For me it was John Byrnes’ Man of Steel. I was hooked after the first taste.

3 Likes

Detective Comics 615, The Penguin Affair pt 2. My whole comic buying history has revolved around DC and Batman ever since. I kept buying until shortly after No Man’s Land, when adulthood kicked in. Picked up an occasional Vertigo book now and again, sometimes with years of gaps. The New 52 brought me completely back. I missed my childhood stories being cannon, but it was a great jumping on point. I picked up every book.

2 Likes

It doesn’t matter because even if I recommend it it would not be available through DC Universe

1 Like

Aquaman Rebirth

3 Likes