Is It Just Me or Are There a Lot of Vocal People Online Who Pretend to Read Comics When in Actuality They Don’t?

I see it a lot online (not here of course). People who debate characters like they know what they are talking about when in actuality they haven’t read the comic or even read the pages to know exactly what they are debating. And this stuff bleeds into movies/show discussions because those people tend to be very vocal online. There are also websites that propagate comic book misinformation like CBR and I wouldn’t be surprised if there were a lot of people who get their information solely from there.

I am still fairly new to comics in general. Batman is a hot topic in a lot of discussions because of certain feats and how popular he is. With some of the stuff I’ve heard online, his character seemed very goofy and outlandish. It wasn’t until I started reading batman months ago that I realized the amount of misinformation out there.

5 Likes

Everyone starts somewhere.

5 Likes

True. As I said, I never touched batman BECAUSE of that stuff. I think a good portion of me starting was spite. But now I see why people love him but the stuff I see online is just wrong in many ways.

3 Likes

It’s essentially what killed the Burtonverse and Snyderverse.

It seems like big hobbies/trends attract possers who essentially end up affecting said franchise or IP. The same thing happened to Star Wars, Star Trek, etc.

2 Likes