Writing Topics 07 from Denny O Neil Class on Comic Books at NYU

There are 12 posts here

9 are Denny’s Notes, which were posted to Bleeding Cool at the time

1 is my 3 springboard topics I submitted to Denny at the time.

2 refer to one of the 10 books Denny gave on his reference list, a book written by Sarah Beach

7 Likes

How To Write Comics And Graphic Novels by Dennis O’Neil #1 – First Class

Discipline

Dennis O’Neil has a long history in the comics industry as both a writer and editor. He’s best known for writing Green Lantern/Green Arrow and Batman, through the seventies, Spider-Man in the eighties and for editing Batman-related titles in the nineties. A widely published novelist and screenwriter, he is currently lecturing at the NYU on Writing Comics And Graphic Novels, starting today.

I’ve been teaching classes on how to write comics for about 20 years now, ever since Howard Cruse asked me to take over his class at Manhattan’s School of Visual Arts. (These days, I work at New York University) With all that experience on my resume, I can state that I cannot teach anyone how to write comics.

Writing is self-taught. You acquire the skill by applying the seat of your pants to a flat object and moving a stylus across paper or tapping a keyboard, and you continue to do that until someone begins paying you to do it, and then you spend the rest of your life teaching yourself how to do what you’re doing.

It is a lonely life – you can get help before and after, but not during – and if the notion of closing a door behind you and manipulating verbal and visual language for many hours every week is abhorrent to you, then perhaps you would be happy applying your skill and intelligence and enthusiasm elsewhere.