What is the best comic book series for somebody new to comics?

I have been a fan of DC for a long time though I never really read the comics. I was mostly into the animated movies and tv shows. Though now since I have the opportunity to start reading comics. I don’t know where to start.

5 Likes

The DC tv shows and movies that you enjoy all have tons of parent comics. Seek out–new and old–comics that your favorite shows and movies are based on. For example, if you are a fan of Arrow get a copy of Mike Grell’s “The Longbow Hunters”. Flash? Read the Mark Waid and Geoff Johns “runs” of the Scarlet Speedster. Batman? How much time do you have? You are about to embark on a wonderful journey through the voluminous canon that is the DC comics. I envy you. Oh, as a wise man used to say–ENJOY!

1 Like

I only started reading comics about 3 years ago, so I am relatively new to reading.
I cant thoroughly answer your question, but the first step is find out which characters you want to know more about.

It’s good to note about comic continuity at the present. As of now, DC was at its Rebrith era, which is the era after New 52. The New 52 was a clean slate for all the characters with new origins or new retellings of origin. Rebirth takes some of good stuff pre-New 52 (that people loved and that wasnt in New 52) and merges them together in continuity that is currently established.

Google “top 5” or “top 10” story lines for your hero/villain of interest and from there you can learn more about that person(s) of interest.

I believe comics is a place for self discovery. I just googled, talked to others about comics and reading. If you have access to a local comic shop, I highly suggest you go there and ask about. This lead me to actually know about the history about the characters I loved and the writers and artist for the story lines.