New collector needing advice. How do I know what to collect?

I have been buying from my local comic store for almost two years now, I opened a box and selected a few of my favorite titals to follow. But I want to take my collecting a little more seriously. How does one determine which comic books to collect? I am thinking primarily in terms of new comic books. Like how do you know which story arcs or specific issues are going to gain most in value over time? Or is it more of a luck thing?

2 Likes

Collect what you enjoy.

It is highly unlikely that any comic you buy will increase in value.

Even if it did you will not get full price unless dealing directly with another collector.

You would have to keep your comics in mint condition. Reading ruins mint condition. A second copy to read just increases your cost with no benefit.

All new comics are available digitally. Even rare comics cost less than two dollars digitally. Older comics sell for a lower price than newer ones.

3 Likes

There’s a Master Topic for comic recommendations you should check out! I’ve just bumped it for you in the Comics Books section :grin:https://yourdcu.com/cmrecs

1 Like

It’s pretty much luck*

*but…if you are on the pulse enough, you can see some books get value. Now, first of all, buy to read. Even if you’re trying to guess what’s going to be popular and get value, you need to read the books in order to make an educated guess.