I have a few very important questions.......

1)In comic book language, what’s the difference between a book and a volume?

1. what’s the difference between DC Essential comics and and regular comics… are the essential comics canon?

2. I was recently at the comicbook store and saw there were a few issues called the flash year one…year two etc…is that part of the normal DC Rebirth: flash story line?

4 Likes

Please answer asap

4 Likes

I might be totally wrong on this, so correct me if so, but I’m pretty sure when people say book, they are referring to issues, and when they say volume they are referring to trade paperbacks. I’m also pretty new to comics so these questions will be helpful for me as well.

3 Likes

So I know that volumes compose of about 5-10 issues in each. Books have what the volumes have but more, and I dont understand what that more is. If the extra stuff is crucial to the story or if it is just extra stuff

3 Likes

Volumes can also apply to informational comics as well. Example: the original Who’s Who & What’s What was released as volumes not issues (even though they were printed in and sold as standard comic books). And the volumes were numbered using Roman numerals, which were a nice touch. Certainly gave it an encyclopedic feel.

1 Like

Also sometimes a graphic novel that extends multiple issues might be a volume. Don’t quote me on this but I think technically each of the 4 books that made up TDKR were each a volume, rather than an issue.

1 Like