DC Subscriptions

The last time I had a DC subscription through the mail was back when Empire Strikes Back was soon to be released. I got a Marvel subscription to Star Wars. I ended up not getting my first issue until Luke and the gang arrived at Cloud City and my subscription was one issue short by the time it ended. I only got 11 issues. It being the 80’s, it was more difficult to complain and would take weeks to get a response so I didn’t bother.

I’m currently spending too much on comics so I was looking for the cheapest way to enjoy physical comics. It’s hard to pass up $3 an issue w/ free shipping 2 weeks before the release date. The fear, of course, is damage to the issue during delivery but I’ve convinced myself I’m just a reader, not a collector/seller. I can deal with a bent book every now and then.

I’ve tried an online service that gave a 35% discount but charged 6-8+ bucks in shipping. You have to buy at least 5 or more comics to feel any kind of discount. Of course, they all have bags and boards and delivered in a box that is not easily bent.

As a result, this month I have subscribed to Action Comics and Superman this month. I anticipate I will start receiving them in April. Have any of you subscribed through DC.com? If so, how was your experience?

6 Likes

The cheapest way that also gives what you want is to pool your money with friends. Then share the comics.

4 Likes

That’s good if you have friends and if they like comics. I have no irl friends that read comics

6 Likes

Try and make friends like that at the comic book store. That is the only advice I have.

5 Likes

It’s a good idea; however, I would want to own them. I’m willing to share but I would want to end up with the books. Also, my friends are all table top RPG players. They’re not interested in comics.

4 Likes

That approach worked tremendously well for Bart Simpson, Martin Prince and Milhouse Van Houten going-on 33 years ago.

2 Likes