Comic Review - Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles

In 2016, a comic book initiative called Hanna-Barbera Beyond was launched. This was an attempt to have DC Comics take several properties from the animation studio Hanna-Barbera and give them a more mature update. I’ll admit that I’m not an expert on Hanna-Barbera. I’m a fan of a lot of Scooby-Doo content, I’ve seen a little of The Jetsons & The Flintstones, but not much else. I know of a few other characters either due to word of mouth or because they made cameos in something I watched. Otherwise, I’m not super familiar with everything Hanna-Barbera has had a hand in.

That same lack of familiarity extends to this comic book initiative. I have not read most of the titles that were a part of Hanna-Barbera Beyond. However, I did find myself interested in checking out the limited series focused on Snagglepuss. This was one of those characters I never watched myself but I knew of his existence. An anthropomorphic pink-colored Puma, Snagglepuss is shown to enjoy the finer things in life, particularly theater. Many have theorized that the portrayal and mannerisms of Snagglepuss indicate he is a gay character. This idea is the main focus of this limited series, which won a GLAAD Award for Outstanding Comic Book. Now, let’s take a look at the story itself. This is Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles.

Our story takes place in 1950s America, the beginning of the Cold War and at the height of McCarthyism. The United States and the Soviet Union are now locked in a culture war, trying to prove that their way of life is superior. But for every boast they have for themselves, the other points out their flaws.