Where To Start Reading? New 52 or Rebirth?

Hello! I am new to DC comics and was wondering where I should start? I don’t want to go all the way back to the beginning of DC’s comics, so I am debating between starting at the New 52 or Rebirth. Which one is better for a beginner? Thanks!

4 Likes

I’d say neither - just start at issue 1 of whatever character(s) you are interested in. If and when you come across a reference to something that happened previously (or parallelly), then use that as an excuse to fill in your backstory. Both eras (as well as all previous) involve many parallel stories that can be maddening to try and read 100% of. And it can be confusing if you’re truly 100% new, because even within a given continuity there are plenty of contradictions.

If you are talking about specific story arcs within these periods, then I (or others) might have different suggestions…

5 Likes

Thanks for the advice! That sounds like a good plan!

3 Likes

Hello @Amartinez2003, welcome to DC Universe Infinite! Hope you enjoy reading alot of great comics from DC. :grinning:

4 Likes

Thank you! The comics and the community are great!

3 Likes

just dive headfirst into a charcater your interested in or think is cool, start with the one that says one or looks like its a starting point. also I think there are a bunch of threads reccomending stuff for hope, or different moods which are pretty cool.

4 Likes

Thanks!

3 Likes

If you have to choose one or the other, go with Rebirth. You can always check out the New 52 stories later if you’re curious, but the Rebirth comics are generally better, and they offer their own convenient jumping-on points.

7 Likes

Thank you!

4 Likes

Well said!

4 Likes

I’ve tried this. It can be maddening, you’re right… especially when you don’t stop to look at the crossover and you have NO CLUE what’s happening… happens to me too often. Though I still very much like this style of reading DC comics.