What happened to the coloring books?

I love the Coloring DC series of adult coloring books. Does anyone know why they stopped putting them out or if there’s any word on new books coming?

2 Likes

Sadly, the Adult coloring book craze using those nice colored pencils was a fad that kind of came and went for the publishing industry in general a few years ago.

My wife and I greatly enjoy them particularly in the winter, the pencils can be a lot of fun. I’ve also found it’s fun to just find black and white versions of famous covers and print them out and color those.

Just seems like a good thread to post some of these colorings; I am no artist,but I wield a mean coloring pencil ( when I have a copy of the original cover in color on my tablet at the same time)…

2 Likes

I find it’s fun to just meditate on the cover, the characters, what was going on in that particular story, what was going on at that time in history… as you slowly color away…

2 Likes

These all come from the DC Comics Coloring Nook published by Insight Editions.

2 Likes

Lol apparently I was so busy coloring in the chess pieces on the first example there that I forgot to color in the rest of Green Lantern… oh well

1 Like

That’s a great idea, @Don-El!

1 Like

Not for everyone I bet, but many will be surprised at the hidden pleasures of just slowly coloring in a page and trying to match the original coloring scheme.

1 Like

Never crayons obviously, but the pencils with color are very precise!

1 Like

I found some the other day at my local FYE, so there may be hope for you yet!

2 Likes

Will hold a second …StarofLyria, you still have FYE’s out your way? They left the central New York area about 10 years ago, we miss FYE! I got stacks of all kinds of great DVD Sci fi and classic Anime series there like Macross and Robotech. I believe FYE sold me the complete Babylon 5 series, all five series and extra films.

It doesn’t surprise me that they would still have superhero coloring books.

1 Like