What Comic Do You Give Someone That's Never Read One?

So let’s say someone you know wants to try reading comics but they’ve never read one. They might have seen a superhero movie or two but that’s all. What storyline or single issue do you give them to start?

I personally think Batman Year One is perfect for new and old readers but I’m no expert and I’m very interested to what ideas you guys have.

Edit: Should have been more specific. This isn’t for someone I know, it’s purely hypothetical. Inspired by a conversation I had with a coworker.

7 Likes

Well, I would say that you find the movie they liked, and give them either a trade of that storyline or a good single issue.

For Batman, I would use The Long Halloween For Superman, I would use Birthright and for Wonder Woman I would use * Wonder Woman Vol. 2: Year One (Rebirth)*

But let’s say they haven’t seen a DC movie or show. If they have a favorite genre, there are a whole bunch of material to choose from: For World War Two enthusiasts: Sargent Rock, for Western, Jonah Hex. For horror, Alan Moore’s Swamp Thing. For Good Omen and American Gods, highly recommend Sandman.

Take the age and sensibility of your friends in mind. Younger people may do better with the subject matter aimed at them. Older people may enjoy the Vertigo or DC Black Label versions.

4 Likes

When Palsey Walsey wants to read material from different franchises that they can jump right into, I point out:

-Aquaman: Sub-Diego from the '03-'06 ongoing, along with Underworld from the current volume
-Batman: Hush
-The Flash: The Trial of The Flash and Rogue War
-Green Arrow: his 1983 self-titled mini
-Green Lantern: The Sinestro Corps War
-Justice League: Rock of Ages from JLA and the first arc of the New 52 ongoing
-Justice Society: the '90s mini and the Princes of Darkness arc from JSA
-Plastic Man: his '80s mini
-Superman: For Tomorrow
-Teen Titans: A Kid’s Game
-Wildstorm Universe: The Authority and Planetary
-Wonder Woman: The Odyssey

1 Like