Warlord Digital Version Commentary (Warlord #1 A Comparison Of Four Versions)

UPDATE: Now that I have completed my review of Warlord #1 I will now comment occasionally on the issues as they come out.

With the digital release of Warlord #1 on DCUI I decided to compare it to three different versions that I own. I will be reviewing all four versions based on reproduction quality, coloring, and other factors in the coming days. I am not an artist, but I do appreciate art and will do my best to provide a critique based on my limited knowledge. I invite all the DC community members to join me and comment on this issue.

18 Likes

Here. We. Go!

NOTE: I will be using screenshots, scans, and photos as the visual tools for my review. I did not create individual pages for the photos because I would like to actually have a life outside the DC Community. The number of pages posted will vary as I compare the different versions.

The New Digital Version (2023)

The Original Comic Version (1975)

The Savage Empire TPB (1991)

Showcase TPB (2009)

The digital version keeps the original coloring to match the 1975 comic. The 1991 TPB adds to the campfire and in my opinion it takes away from the central action. The 2009 B&W version keeps the original mostly black background which again helps focus on the central action and allows the reader to appreciate the composition without the aid of color.

Finally, only in the digital version is the $ 0.25 pricing removed. Maybe to not remind us of inflation vs. today’s price. In defense of the entire comics industry the quality of today’s comics (better paper, printing, etc.) accounts for much of the price increases.

15 Likes

I never thought about this but I now wonder how many original covers have been changed over the years for the TPB’s. I wouldn’t have noticed unless you pointed it out so I will probably not make a living on my detective skills anytime soon.