Top 10 Best Issues and/or Runs Pre CRISIS on Infinite Earths

Hey everyone, i’m reading a DC comic order of sorts and while I’m not going to be adding more to my pre CRISIS list, I was wondering what the best runs and issues were?

I’ve heard about most the classic runs (Oneil/Adams, Wolfman/Perez on Teen titans, there’s a Aquaman run on my list. etc) I liked some of the early Superman but find 50s Supes to be pretty rough just from the little i’ve read.

I’ve read several classic Batman stories post CRISIS but not many pre yet.

Just wondering the thoughts of DC Comic historians. I wouldn’t say i’m new to DC comics but i’ve been a casual fan for years (I read some New 52 when it came out, mostly Bats… some of Geoff John’s Green Lantern run. love Green Lantern) til last year or so getting into comics more… Also I know more Marvel history than DC and want to change that.

Thanks. My first thread. Hope its okay.

3 Likes

Any help or suggestions? Or will my first thread die a slow death?

This is from.my top 22 titles of all time

01 1961 Brave and the Bold 34 Hawkman by Schwartz Fox Kubert

02 1974 Adventure Comics 431 to 440 The Spectre Superhero as horror comic Writer/Artist Mike Fleisher/Jim Aparo. Editor Joe Orlando,
(Not in Library Substitute 1992 Specte by Ostrander and Mandrake]

03 1976 All Star Comics 60 on (omits 58 59) revival of Justice Society of America. Introduces Power Girl. Conway Wood.

04 1979 Detective Comics 471 to 476 Steve Engleheart and Marshall Rogers

05 1984 All Star Squadron Set in World War II Roy Thomas

06 1984 Saga of Swamp Thing 21 The Anatomy Lesson Alan Moore

I have a Super Hero Genre History.which list many historic issues. Most are good.

2 Likes

Thanks for the list. Some i dont have in my order

1 Like

These are my after Crisis best runs

07 1993 Death High Cost of Living The Trade includes Death’s First Appearance in Sandman 8, 1991, Sound of Her Wings Neil Gaiman