New 52 Superman vs Action Comics

I know that we all here love the New 52 Superman Comics but I have never heard anyone here talk about the Action series of comics. Where do they fall in line? How do they compare? (I’m new to this, it’s true, ITSA TRUE!)

What is the initial purpose of the Action comics line?

Thanks for your answers in advance!

1 Like

Never feel bad about being new. We all start somewhere :wink:

As for the New 52 Action Comics, its placement is…well, weird

So it’s like this: Grant Morrison wrote the initial 18 issues for the series. The idea (at that point) was the series was set “5 years ago,” during Superman’s very first adventures. Personally, I loved the Grant Morrison issues, but I also understand why a lot of people didn’t care for them, as they get weird and meta and have pacing issues and a really off-putting plot structure (so, basically your standard Grant Morrison comic).

After he left, the title went through a few different writers with…differing results (some sticking to the “Five Years Ago” premise, others moving it to the present). Eventually, the title settled on Greg Pak as the main writer, and while not particularly amazing, Pak turned in some very solid, very entertaining stories…

…Until the “Truth” storyline started over in the main Superman title, at which point Pak was forced to tie in and the book was hamstrung as a result (IMO)

Basically, New 52 Action Comics is divisive at best. How good or bad it is really depends on who’s writing it and your own preferences. If you enjoy some of Morrison’s other work, you’ll probably be fine with the first 18 issues. Otherwise, just skip to Greg Pak’s run (Issue 25), but be wary once “Truth” starts.

3 Likes

If you want to get the ball rolling in some interesting way, bring in that Morrison guy! It got me to read Action Comics for the first time. I had also enjoyed All Star Superman.

2 Likes