Master Thread: "I'm New to DC Comics! What Should I Read?"

Every day, a new person enters a comic shop and leaves without reading or purchasing anything, because they simply don’t know where to start. That’s where we here in the DC Universe swoop in to help!

For those of us lucky enough to be steeped in the lore, which stories would you recommend for fresh fans in the following categories? You don’t have to answer for all of them if they’re not your bag!

:muscle:t4:Action:
:family_man_man_girl_girl:Team-Ups:
:male_detective:t2:Mystery:
:rose:Romance:
:japanese_ogre:Horror:
:microscope:Science:
:sparkles:Magic/Fantasy:
:joy:Humor:
:books:Classic:
:iphone:Modern:

Let’s make this thread the ultimate list of new fan recommendations!

23 Likes

For a fantastic modern book, start with Batman (2016) vol 1 -> 4. You can also read vol 1-3 on DCU right now. Just skip issues 7-8 and 23-24.
Batman becomes a great romance book from vol 4-6.
For a fantastic classic book, start with Watchmen. This book changed comics forever and is seen only comic on the best 100 books of all time list
For a great fantasy book, read Aquaman (2016) Vol 1-3. If you can’t relate to aquaman’s hope for atlantis, then you will never connect with aquaman.
For a great Humor book, read Supersons (2016) Superman and Robin have children. Just focus on their relationship and pretend you know what else is happening. It’s on DCU right now!

5 Likes

For mystery, romance, horror, science, and magic/fantasy, I’m not sure what to say, since most of the books I’ve read fall more generally under the superhero umbrella. Does something like Green Lantern count as science, for example? Eh, it’s sci-fi, but not especially scientific.