Justice League Book Club Week 26: Talent Spotlight on Robert Venditti

Greetings, Justice League Book Club!

After Week 25’s trip to the '90s (and a brief hiatus in general), we’re back in the present day to check out the beginning of acclaimed writer Robert Venditti’s brief but memorable run with The World’s Greatest Super Heroes. Check out the deets below!

:books: Read :

:speaking_head: Discuss :

That’s your mission, League. This is a short read, but its quite fun all the same, and I hope you enjoy it.

Take care and, as always, have fun! :partying_face: :justice_league_book_club: :superman:

4 Likes
  1. No, I am not familiar with his other work. This is my first time reading his Justice League as well.
  2. I really enjoyed this story. The League worked well as a team. Madame Xanadu was a bit overpowered maybe, but I still liked her in the story.
  3. I thought the art in this story was great.
3 Likes

Howdy hey, @scoop001! :cowboy_hat_face:

My friend, when you’ve the time, please check out Venditti’s Hawkman (linked in the OP). It is unbelievably great.

If you’re a Hawkman fan, you’ll absolutely adore Venditti’s take on The Winged Warrior.

If you’re new to solo Hawkman tales, you’ll become a Hawkman for life as and after you read it.*

*Probably. :wink: Just know that Venditti’s Hawkman is badass.

SN: RV is writing Superman '78 as well, which will surely be another notch in his Quality Belt.

If I had any nits to pick with this arc, it’d be Madame Xanadu. She did seem a bit OP, as if she was a storytelling Get Out of Jail Free Card.

That said, she thankfully never overpowers the story as a whole, and overall was a welcome addition to the tale.

I absolutely agree. From start to finish, the art popped very nicely and pulled me into the adventure from the start of the arc.

Thanks for stopping by, @scoop001! Always good to see you. :superman_hv_4:

1 Like