John Constantine in the main DC Universe: better or worse?

In your opinion, does Constantine the Hellblazer work better in the main-line, Earth-0 DC Universe, or on his own? In my opinion, I like Constantine interacting with the more supernatural elements of the main universe (Swamp Thing, Morpheus, etc.), but putting him next to Batman and Wonder Woman just feels weird to me. Thoughts?

I’ve read Constantine material that took place on both sides of the fence, and I feel he works fine both ways.

I admit that I do like seeing him alongside the super heroes. There’s always room for a trenchcoat and tie amongst all of the capes, tights, pouches and the like.

Was Constantine ever actually in his own universe or did his Vertigo series just ignore mainstream DCU? I know he started in mainstream and feel like there was always a smidge of crossover but I’m no Constantine expert.

There was a little bit of crossover, but mostly among other Vertigo imprint characters. I seem to recall Swamp Thing showing up to wish John a happy 40th birthday in an Ennis written issue from the 90s.

I don’t like John Constantine touching the mainline DCU, personally. The existence of super powered heroes changes the stakes of his normal interactions for me. That and the fact that he can’t be nearly as self-serving a character as the John Constantine I grew up with when he’s rubbing shoulders with them… he’d look like a villain by contrast.

2 Likes

I only like him in the main DC universe if he is teaming up with members of Justice league dark like his most recent appearances in Justice league dark

I actually like him in main line continuity. Yes he is a self serving egoist but I would really like to see him put up against Hal Jordan and or Guy Gardner. Or with so
Done as equally flippant of authority like same Green Arrow takes have been. He’s a great character to play other characters off of.