How to Read Superman Comics

Hey community! Ok so I’m new to the superman comics and discovering there’s a ton of crossover between the different titles. I was reading Michael Turner and Joe Kelly’s Godfall starting in Action Comics #812 and then #813 and felt like I’d missed a huge chunk of the story. After looking it up online, its broken up over 3 different Superman titles. Worse yet I can’t find them all here. :frowning: Is this normal for Superman stories and do other characters like Batman have the same thing? I was even looking for some label in the comic to direct me to some other book but there wasn’t anything. So my question is, how do you read these stories if they are all over the place and is there some pattern to them or you just have to keep an eye on all the titles? In the mean time, I’ll sulk until I can find the other issues!

• Action Comics #812
  • Adventures of Superman #625
  • Superman (Volume 2) #202
  • Action Comics* #813
  • Adventures of Superman #626
  • Superman (Volume 2) #203
3 Likes

In the 1990s, the Superman titles featured a numbering system to help readers keep track of the reading order. The number would appear in a triangle on the cover, so fans tend to refer to this period as the Triangle Era. By 2004, the triangle numbers no longer appeared on the covers.

7 Likes

Thanks, this is good to know! This story line was done in 2004 which explains why there’s no triangle. I’d love to see the DC Universe recommend related comics to the ones you are reading. That would be super helpful!

6 Likes

It is common that the two crossover and it does suck sometimes if not the complete series is not on here. However since you are new to Superman books, I will recommend a short list of other titles you should read as soon as you can. I hope you enjoy these.

All Star Superman: Must Read This!
For All Seasons
Red Son
Birthright/Secret Origins
Secret Identity
Action Comics #775 - What’s so funny about Truth, Justice, and the American Way