How does one pitch an idea to DC? (Seriously)

I’ve been writing a book for a little while now. And I’m getting to the point of writing, sketching and developing where I’m now researching “How to Pitch My Idea”

I’ve never written a book before. I’ve been a teacher for 20 years. But all I know I have a new idea and I am having fun hashing it out. And I want to eventually see if someone at DC would be a contact to send it off to.

But everything I am finding is in regards to already having published material and the very clear “we do not take submissions”.
I’m not writing a piece of fan fiction, Really am writing a graphic novel about a brand new Green Lantern character,

So how does a newbie, novice writer. Who is a 42 year old teacher (21 years experience) get a foot in the door?

Not asking for a friend.
Asking for me

2 Likes

In the past DC Comics has held writer’s workshops you can submit to:
https://www.dccomicstalentworkshop.com/writers-workshop/how-to-apply/

I akin the process of breaking into the comics industry much like breaking into the film industry.

1. Networking. Go to mixers, meet-and-greets, writer’s workshops in your area. Participate in online forums and swap edits with other people’s work.

2. Self-Generate. Publish your own independent work. Set up at conventions. Sell yourself.

3. Internships. This one is more difficult, especially if you’re not currently in school. But this would be a goal for someone going to school for writing to keep their eye on internship programs offered by DC.

4. Start at the bottom. Look at smaller publishing companies and diversify your work and gain experience by cutting your teeth on smaller projects. This is how you can also meet people in the industry and get professional access to events.

I hope this helps!

6 Likes

In addition to the enormously helpful and useful info above, you could hire a publishing agent. It’s worked for me in my work, but that’s definitely a YMMV thing.

3 Likes