Help! What are your suggestions for essential comics?

Hello!

I am just getting into the graphic novels and comic world of DC. So far I have read Batman: Hush and Metal.

What are your picks for DC essentials?

I enjoy Superman, Batman and I am looking to get more into Captain Marvel (Shazam). Open to anything though and would just like some suggestions for the best storylines of any hero / villain.

Thanks!

1 Like

Go to the news section

There are recommendations , mostly titles called 10 … Titles Moments, though Shazam is 7 Covers for

Wonder Woman
Superman
Batman
Shazam
Detective Modern Age
Detective Bronze Age
Detective Silver Age
Detective Golden Age

Since NEWS is not part of Search, you must continue asking for older NEWS until get

Detective Golden Age.

I took screen shots of articles and used OCR to convert to text. It was a lot of work, but you get a lot of info that seems accurate and gives you a good feel for each character.

1 Like

The artitles are actually called in the NEWS section as

How to STart Reading Wonder Woman

How to Start Reading Superman

Etc.

1 Like

If you are on the web or a mobile device. Take a look at the front page of the comics section. There’s a lot of recommendations for places to start on that page. Also look at the storylines section (also called out on the comic page). There’s a bit more there but it’s a lot of the DC classics so pick something that catches your eye

New Teen Titans

1 Like

Wolfman’s New Teen Titans
Levitz’s Legion of Super-Heroes
Moore’s Swamp Thing
Thomas’ All-Star Squadron and Secret Origins
Perez’s Wonder Woman
Cooke’s New Frontier
Grell’s Green Arrow

Depending on your tastes:
Ostrander’s Suicide Squad if you like Dark
Giffen & DeMatteis’ Justice League International if you like Light

2 Likes

I always think if you even know just a bit about DC at all.

Start with: Crisis On Infinite Earths (COIE for short)