Help me choose what to read, I’m new to DC

Should I read all star Batman and robin———-/all star Batman/———-/or Blackest night- green lantern

5 Likes

Between those three? Blackest Night, definitely. All-Star Batman and Robin is terrible and I haven’t heard anything one way or another about All-Star Batman.

5 Likes

If you’re new to DC, I wouldn’t recommend any of those three stories. All-Star Batman & Robin is an inside joke that you won’t get if you’re unfamiliar with the characters and their histories. Scott Snyder’s All-Star Batman is unremarkable and somewhat convoluted at first. Blackest Night assumes familiarity with the then-current Green Lantern run and a slew of dead DC characters.

7 Likes

For someone brand new, I would maybe suggest Batman: Year One, and Green Lantern Rebirth when it comes to those characters.

5 Likes

All-Star Batman is good if you’re looking for a more self-contained story (and just a really good batman story.) Blackest Night was a big crossover event right before New 52 so it has to spend a considerable amount of time tying up loose canon ends. You should be able to follow along enough with minimal knowledge of the canon of that time (it was one of my first stories too.)