Favorite Era of Comics

Hello all, this is my first ever original post! I am curious as to what your favorite era of DC comics is. I am wondering if it corresponds to what age each of us was when we were reading. For example, my favorite era would be the 80s including Crisis and the reboots done after. I graduated high school in 1984, so these were mostly published during my teen years.

5 Likes

Early Golden Age (1938-1944). Everything was exciting and experimental back then.

5 Likes

Post-Zero Hour to the New 52 reboot (1994-2011)

7 Likes

That was right after I stopped buying comics. I got married in 1993 and had to spend my money on other things.

3 Likes

I like the Bronze Age. It combines the fun, optimism, and innocence of the Silver Age with the more complex and emotionally grounded character-based writing of the Modern Age, with (almost) none of the grim 'n gritty darkness that dominated the '90s.

Anything in particular that you recommend from that era?

7 Likes

Iā€™m with you on that era. I feel 70s and 80s DC is when comics became what we think of when we think of comics now. All changes since tend to be related to how the content is delivered rather than the content itself.

6 Likes

Silver? Bronze? Silver? Bronze? I canā€™t do it. I canā€™t pick one ā€œageā€ over the other. The amount of great comics in both ā€œagesā€ is so vast, why put one before another? How about just sitting back and enjoying them both for the incredible amount of entertainment they each offered.

5 Likes

Doesnā€™t have a name, but from around 1995-2005. Yeah, you have Marvel doingā€¦ well, whatever they were doing, but you have that wonderful post-Zero Hour DCU, and a complete indie comic revitalization. Not to mention the rise and fall of Vertigo.

9 Likes