Does anyone have any tips for upcoming comic artist like myself.

Please share.

1 Like

I’m not an artist but I got one tip. Be creative! Try unique things that people don’t usually do.

2 Likes

Good one ,thanks@redhood

2 Likes

Create a portfolio of your work, attend your local comic conventions, and seek out the artist alley for tips.

4 Likes

Don’t shy away from your own personal style. It’s important to understand human anatomy, but I’d say it’s equally as important to understand how human anatomy workswith your style. As long as it makes sense visually, take risks! If it’s something you’re inclined to, mix medias. And last but not least, practice. Always always practice

Good luck <3

2 Likes

Don’t just focus on figure and anatomy, like so many do. Learn and master gesture, perspective, form, page/panel design, iconography, visual storytelling language, cinematography, fabrics, etc. Draw backgrounds and other mundane things. Learn the highly technical techniques and all the shortcuts. Develop your own approach from intention and not ignorance. Get good at drawing non-human forms of anatomy and patterns. Draw outside of your specific interests as well as inside your interests. Study all kinds of art, not just visual. Learn to love the process and not the product. Practice. Be the best you can be at your craft and let that do the talking. Don’t measure yourself against others. Be respectful of writers, artists, editors, and publishers. Put your work and yourself out there.

2 Likes