Black Hero Suggestions

I know about Vixen, Black Lightning, and Cyborg, but I’m fairly new to the comic book world. Can you suggest any great comics within this app that feature black heroes or villains?

3 Likes

First appearance of John Stewart is on here. Green Lantern issue 87. One of the first heroes of the age to be created without “black” in his name. Then issues 182 - 190 (also on here) have some more stories led by John. These aren’t major story arcs or anything, but a great look at some early stories of one of the best GLs in the sector! Also cool to read issue 87 with and understanding of what the political climate was when it was written.

1 Like

Batwing isn’t bad and Greg Rucka’s Checkmate has some good issues that feature the Bronze Tiger.

3 Likes

The Young Justice comic that is on here is a companion to the animated series, might have some stories that feature that version of Aqualad.

1 Like

Icon

2 Likes

Static, Icon, and all the other milestone comic heroes

4 Likes

A cool black villain is Black Manta. He’s one of my favorites hands down.

3 Likes

Mr Terrific is a really cool character in the various Justice Society series and despite some questionable art his New 52 series (which unfortunately only got eight issues) was really well written.

1 Like

If you want to read a good Black Manta story check out the first year of the current Aquaman series.

1 Like

Earth 2 and Earth 2: Society are good choices as well; they feature Val-Zod, a Black version of SUPERMAN.

I’d also recommend MOSAIC, a miniseries featuring Green Lantern John Stewart.

2 Likes

The '80s Suicide Squad series on here features Bronze Tiger (and Vixen). He’s one of my favorites.

Check out some of the animated shows especially the justice league episode blackest night. Phil Lamar’s voice over of John Stewart reciting the green lantern oath is one of the greatest pieces of dialogue ever.

He’s not technically human, but maybe Icon?

1 Like

Batwing and steel