Best Comic E-reader?

What do y’all think is the best e-reader for comics?

I want to buy the new Lois Lane series, but I don’t know where I should get it.

• My favorite reader used to be Nook, because I could use it in my Surface for the bigger screen.
  • Now I use Kindle cuz it’s easier to find comics, but I can only read them on my phone and it’s just not the same.
  • I’ve used Google Play once. Seemed better, but I’ve very little experience with it.

Any opinions?

2 Likes

I’m very happy with my iPad (7th Gen, I think. Whatever is the latest in stores.) just a base 32GB version. I only use it for messaging, email, and DCU. I have a bulky but highly protective case on it, cuz of hand issues sometimes I drop things. With a normal case, it’s very lightweight. The 10.2 Retina display has been great for reading comics. I had an old iPad mini and the screen wasn’t nearly big enough.

I looked at kindle fire & google tablet, iPad was the easiest. I can download music and use it as a streaming device if I wanted, AppleTV, Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, Nick hits, and I’m am sure Disney+ but haven’t given the house of mouse money yet.

As a display for comics it’s a great screen size, almost the dimensions of a real comic book. I looked around for several months and decided on the iPad. (I also have an iPhone and a MacBook so all the integration is real easy, even watching stuff from my media server. A 8+ year old Mac mini. I manage all my media via iTunes, so that makes it easy as well.

STD cheapest full size screen iPad 32GB MSRP $329.00
That’s my recommendation, got mine in November and my comics consumption is way up.

3 Likes

Have to agree with iPad. You have the option of reading a page at a time at essentially the same scale as a printed comic, or the panel-by-panel. Any smaller and reading it “as designed” gets harder.

3 Likes