Barry Allen The Super Villain?

I’m not the first one to ask this but another thread got me thinking about Barry Allen’s (potential) crimes. I am far from an expert in Flash so a true fan may be able to dismantle this thought easily, but Barry has done some very selfish things with catastrophic results and never seems to learn or be held accountable. I am specifically thinking about Flashpoint and the resulting New 52 but it seems like a pretty common storyline for him. He wanted to save his mother (understandably) so he messed with time and created a horrific timeline. He worked to correct that but while doing so caused the New 52 timeline. Lives were completely altered and many were even snuffed out. I know Dr. Manhattan retroactively played a part but it’s still on Barry.
Batman had secret files on colleagues and got ostracized but Barry wipes out an entire timeline and no one blinks? I hereby call for Barry Allen to be placed on trial for crimes against humanity!!

4 Likes

So he really fell from grace. The actions of a madman!

2 Likes

Changed to a madman!
Sorry, it’s schtick but I’m going all in.

4 Likes

I think he is generally written as caring and compassionate but it seems odd that it’s kind of ignored that he has mucked with time a lot. I guess most characters are oblivious but more and more are learning about the timelines and you would think someone would be like “wait, so I had a family but you messed with time and now they don’t exist? Well at least you saved your mom. Oh, you had to let her get killed again to reverse a horrible future? So it was all for nothing. Gee thanks Barry.”

4 Likes

This isn’t like an I’m angry bothered by it have to be told not to read it. Just a discussion I wondered about.

2 Likes

If I somehow messed it up, I’m meaning current Flash stories when I talk about Flashpoint.

3 Likes

I’m confused then. How am I looking at Silver Age?

2 Likes