Bad Comic Book Art?

So I’ve always been of two minds of John Romita Jr. On one hand, I love his work; it can be detailed and Show great expression. On the other hand his official motto is, “What you see is what you get” so even if the art it’s not finished he would still send it through. I’m not an artist by any means but I need to know what you other comic book collectors think!

2 Likes

I love John Romita Jr. In my honest opinion he’s one of the greatest artists working right now. Obviously, he has the well-documented problem of not being able to draw anyone under the age of sixteen without having them look mildly creepy, but his facial expressions are unbeatable and his storytelling is excellent.

4 Likes

I don’t know any of his works off the top of my head, but that cover is not great in my opinion and I can see based on that what you’re saying

2 Likes

I’ve never been a fan at all. W/ few exceptions, his work always comes across as pretty sloppy to me, and the faces just…don’t look right. I have wondered how much of that is due to the inking, since he collabed w/ Peter Steigerwald on The Dark Knight Returns: The Last Crusade, and I actually liked the artwork there

2 Likes