Aquaman Rebirth and Beyond

Have you been enjoying Aquaman Rebirth and the Dan Abnett run?

8 Likes

Very much. I have found it a great continuation of what Geoff Johns did in the new 52.

3 Likes

I just binged all the issues since Rebirth. I think it gets better with each arc. A great run.

2 Likes

I started out reading Aquaman Rebirth by trade but switched to single issues during “The Crown Comes Done” arc.

3 Likes

Loved the runs, but hate what they have been doing to his costume. I didn’t like the pebble look, and I don’t like the low gold shirt collar either. I am excited about losing the shirt and keeping the long hair.

1 Like

Yes, I know it is for the movie but please no beard. I am a metal guy, but no long hair on Aquaman.

Yes, I know it is for the movie but please no beard. Also I am a metal guy, but no long hair on Aquaman.

2 Likes

I think Aquaman has been one of the sleeper hits of the Rebirth era and is one of the best books out there right now. It is a shame that Abbott’s run on the book is coming to an end.

I hope that Kelly Sue Deconnick can maintain the excellence of the title whenever takes over.

Also, am I the only one who would rather have Arthur end up with Dolphin instead of Mera?

1 Like

Yes I agree, Aquaman is my favorite current DC book. I think you might be, Aquaman would be crazy to pick Dolphin over Mera.

3 Likes

Aquaman’s Rebirth story is rich in Atlantean culture, Character depth and displaying some of Aquaman comics best artwork but where it lacks, especially in the shadow of Geoff Johns’ run, is in its conclusions, especially the battles are rushed. We’ve ridden the wave this long, we’ll ride it out longer if given quality story.

And these soft reboots aren’t really helping either. As soon as we see Aquaman conquer a chapter in his life you want to see him take on the next chapter.

2 Likes

Yes the fact that Aquaman writers have to work through these DC Universe events.