Advice For A Wannabe Artist

Hey all,

I have seen such amazing DC artwork from all of you on these threads so I figured you could give me some pointers! I just started learning how to draw. I am taking a basic fundamentals course but I want to know your tips and tricks for getting started. Have any example tips of how you drew some of your favorite DC characters? What characters are great for a practicing beginner? Any and all advice is super appreciated!

Also keep those amazing and inspirational art posts coming! Special shoutouts to @biggedy , @Mickid0824.26654 , @_UnderScore , and @KeyFamily for their recent posts that have really made me want to get drawing!

2 Likes

Thank you so much for the shout-out, @DukeGaga311! What a nice surprise to see this morning! I have 3 major tips for you (along with a dash of luck and a pinch of good vibes):

1. Passion drives art!
    Draw/paint/mold what you love. Just as they say to write what you know, it goes the same with art. Use whatever drives you to drive your project. You’ll find that the hours of working will fly by because you’re getting it just right for you - the way that you envision.

2. Practice makes progress!
    Don’t be hard on yourself. Take your time and work through each draft knowing that eventually it will turn out exactly as you want. You have to start somewhere and the art is molded and shaped as you go along, not from the very start. (Also, it can be so difficult getting what’s in your head to translate outside of your head. That goes for everyone.)

3. Be inspired!